Skip to content
Glasgow Counts — Glasgow, in numbers.Local help →

Glasgow · Scotland

People and living standards

Glasgow City council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Glasgow City

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Glasgow City local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 629,220 in 1991 to 654,330 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Glasgow City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 598,840 people in 1996; 654,330 people in 2025. 9.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Glasgow City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991629,220
1992622,210
1993616,680
1994612,260
1995604,080
1996598,840
1997590,660
1998587,050
1999582,950
2000577,020
2001578,710
2002576,450
2003572,270
2004569,560
2005569,250
2006568,460
2007571,760
2008576,200
2009581,620
2010586,500
2011593,060
2012593,080
2013592,090
2014592,400
2015595,200
2016600,820
2017604,220
2018608,190
2019612,490
2020612,710
2021610,860
2022622,050
2023640,350
2024650,320
2025654,330
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Glasgow City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 116,900 people in 1996; 96,671 people in 2025. 17.3% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Glasgow City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991119,855
1992119,866
1993120,036
1994120,045
1995118,454
1996116,900
1997114,805
1998113,666
1999111,683
2000109,128
2001106,342
2002104,742
2003103,121
2004101,580
200599,723
200698,204
200797,649
200897,102
200996,562
201096,280
201195,824
201296,240
201396,700
201497,322
201597,799
201698,738
201799,092
201899,124
201998,449
202096,908
202195,859
202296,140
202397,299
202497,638
202596,671
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Glasgow City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 386,343 people in 1996; 464,470 people in 2025. 20.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Glasgow City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991407,229
1992401,806
1993397,616
1994394,555
1995389,000
1996386,343
1997380,981
1998379,543
1999378,968
2000376,473
2001381,723
2002382,113
2003380,869
2004380,835
2005383,553
2006385,401
2007390,262
2008395,838
2009402,333
2010407,854
2011414,985
2012413,974
2013412,400
2014411,869
2015414,386
2016418,922
2017421,809
2018425,358
2019429,345
2020430,514
2021428,580
2022438,434
2023453,999
2024461,500
2025464,470
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Glasgow City council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 95,597 people in 1996; 93,189 people in 2025. 2.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Glasgow City council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991102,136
1992100,538
199399,028
199497,660
199596,626
199695,597
199794,874
199893,841
199992,299
200091,419
200190,645
200289,595
200388,280
200487,145
200585,974
200684,855
200783,849
200883,260
200982,725
201082,366
201182,251
201282,866
201382,990
201483,209
201583,015
201683,160
201783,319
201883,708
201984,696
202085,288
202186,421
202287,476
202389,052
202491,182
202593,189
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2022 census · 620,870 residents
How this census compares with other years

Scotland’s census was held in 2022. These are native Scottish broad categories, with African separate from Caribbean or Black. The national term minority ethnic also includes some White groups, so it must not be read as non-White. Privacy-adjusted cells can differ from published totals. Categories containing an undefined source dash are unavailable pending a verified aggregate release or symbol definition.

Ethnic group · Glasgow City · 2022
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White: Total501,04780.7%
Mixed or multiple ethnic groupNot availableNot available
Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: TotalNot availableNot available
African: TotalNot availableNot available
Caribbean or Black: TotalNot availableNot available
Other ethnic groups: TotalNot availableNot available

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 19.2% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Glasgow City council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £8,949 per person in 1997; £20,974 per person in 2024. 134.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Glasgow City council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19978,949
19989,125
19999,605
200010,203
200110,667
200211,052
200311,482
200411,843
200512,102
200612,689
200713,415
200813,661
200913,922
201013,874
201113,962
201214,396
201314,685
201415,208
201515,657
201616,094
201716,274
201816,411
201917,151
202017,426
202118,165
202218,762
202319,732
202420,974
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Glasgow City council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -15.7% in 1997; -19.2% in 2024. 3.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Glasgow City council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-15.7
1998-15.7
1999-15.1
2000-14.3
2001-13.8
2002-12.6
2003-11.9
2004-12.7
2005-13.9
2006-13.4
2007-12.6
2008-13.3
2009-13.1
2010-14.1
2011-14.3
2012-14.8
2013-16.2
2014-15.9
2015-17.7
2016-16.4
2017-17.4
2018-19.6
2019-18.6
2020-17
2021-16.8
2022-18.3
2023-19.3
2024-19.2
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults with no qualifications

Not available

20 March 2022 · Glasgow City local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator. Scottish degree-or-higher excludes HNC/HND and is kept distinct from the wider Level 4+ measure used elsewhere.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

Not available

20 March 2022 · Glasgow City local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents

UK Facts calculation: output-area counts summed using the official NRS 2022 geography index only when every required cell is numeric. The source dash has no verified definition in the archive or its disclosure notes, so affected sums are withheld; it is not treated as zero. Dash-cell counts are retained in diagnostics. Cells are privacy-adjusted and may not add to independently published totals. Each percentage uses its own table denominator.

A required output-area cell contains an undefined dash; the affected aggregate is withheld, not treated as zero.

Source →

Average home price

£194,000

July 2026 · Glasgow City local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

No counts returned for this exact present-day area code in the 2011 census table. Older boundaries have not been reassigned by name or population share.

Some Scottish ethnicity categories are withheld because their source output areas contain undefined dash markers: Mixed or multiple ethnic group; Asian, Asian Scottish or Asian British: Total; African: Total; Caribbean or Black: Total; Other ethnic groups: Total. The markers have not been interpreted as zero.

A verified 2001 Scottish ethnicity snapshot on this exact area code is not included in this release.

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.